Week 5 MNGT 137

Habit 6 in the book The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People talks about Synergy. This relates to serving the customers of my micro business on the basis of trust. The core of this habit is creating trustful relationships through communication in order to create a bond that is “greater than the sum of the parts.”

Steven Covey writes “Synergy is everywhere in nature. If you plant two plants close together, the roots commingle and improve the quality of the soil so that both plants will grow better than if they were separated. If you put two pieces of wood together, they will hold much more than the total of the weight held by each separately. The whole is greater than the sum of its parts.” Simply put: working together to create a relationship built on trust and communication is the foundation of what synergy is.

Because my company is such a niche business, it is extremely important that I build my business off of relationships and being transparent to my customers. When dealing with anything from sales to customer service issues, building and maintaining mutual trust is the key to success. The only way I can truly succeed in this business is if I have the ability to synergize with my customers.

When we are communicating through synergy, we are allowing ourselves to be open to what the other is saying and suggesting. We are allowing the mutual trust we have built to solve a problem and help my business grow. It starts with believing that everyone involved in the communication is there to help and grow and support one another.

Synergy in business allows everyone involved to be authentic and gain a mutual respect for each other. It allows for all parties to encourage communication through our differences and understand that we all have different opinions and values. Within my business I choose to celebrate the differences between me, my customers and any other people I come in contact with as my business grows and evolves.

Leave a Reply

